All About Us

Founded in 2009, The Woodlands Chorale is a community chorus that performs in The Woodlands, TX about 23 miles north of the city of Houston. For the fifteen years prior to 2009, this chorale was under the umbrella of The Woodlands Symphony and was known as The Woodlands Symphony Chorus. When the symphony ceased performing in the Spring 2009, the core chorus members and artistic director chose to follow their vision to perform beautiful classical and contemporary choral music for our community.


Mission Statement

The mission of the Woodlands Chorale is:

  • To uphold the highest standards in the performance of classical and contemporary choral repertoire
  • To reach out into the community to attract, educate, and inspire the broadest possible audience
  • To recruit the best singers in our community as members of the Chorale

Read a recent article on the chorale published in the April 2018 issue of "Neighbors of the Woodlands" magazine.

J. David Faber, PhD

J. David Faber, Ph.D. is the Choral Director at Lone Star College - North Harris where he directs the concert and jazz choirs, and teaches class piano, music appreciation and ear training. His BA is from Shepherd University in West Virginia. He holds MM and PhD degrees from West Virginia University in Music Education and Voice. In addition to his duties at North Harris, Dr. Faber is the founding Artistic Director of The Woodlands Chorale, and the organist for The Woodlands Community Presbyterian Church. In his free time, he is an avid weight lifter and runner, having completed 20 marathons.


Matthew Martinez, Accompanist

Matthew Martinez holds Piano Performance and Choral Conducting degrees from UMHB and SHSU. He has been accompanist for many choral ensembles across the state of Texas, including Bell Civic Chorale, Temple College Symphony Chorale, SHSU Chorale, and now The Woodlands Chorale. He currently teaches Intermediate choir in Pasadena ISD. He is pianist at First Baptist Church of Conroe.


Leadership Team

  • Rick Ray - President
  • Anne Campbell - Vice President
  • Laura McMeans - Treasurer
  • Gary Wooddell - Secretary
  • Laura Badgett - Director at Large
  • Edward Gibson - Director at Large
  • Annette Hallock - Director at Large
  • Moises Veletzuy - Director at Large